Australian Consulate-General
Hong Kong
Also accredited to Macau

Key Staff


Australia’s Consul-General to Hong Kong and Macau, Michaela Browning, commenced official duties on 24 April 2017.

Ms Browning is an experienced diplomat and has extensive international policy, program management and operational experience. She has worked for the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade for 17 years as a trade negotiator and as a senior policy adviser and manager on North, East and South East Asia.

Before her appointment in Hong Kong, Ms Browning was General Manager and Head of Investment at Austrade, the Australian Government's trade and investment promotion agency. She led Austrade’s investment teams in Australia and across an extensive overseas network. Previously, she was General Manager Established Markets and Special Adviser to the CEO on Strategy and China. In this role she had overall responsibility for the Austrade presence in, and trade and investment promotion for, North America, Western Europe, Japan, Korea and the Pacific.

 Ms Michaela Browning

Ms Browning was seconded to Austrade in 2014 from her then role as Assistant Director General at AusAID, managing Australia’s substantial aid program in Afghanistan and Pakistan.

During 2010 and 2011 Ms Browning was Asia, Intelligence and Counter-terrorism Senior Adviser to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and then Senior Adviser on International Policy and Intelligence to the Minister for Defence.

Ms Browning has served on two diplomatic postings in Asia – in Singapore and in Thailand – managing political and economic relations, trade negotiations and market access, and counter-terrorism and security cooperation.

She has master’s degrees in Foreign Affairs and Trade and in Japanese and a Bachelor in Economics (Honours) from Monash University. She is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Executive Team


 Michaela Browning

 Ken Gordon
 Deputy Consul-General

 Marisa Howarth
 Consul (Consular & Management) 

 Sam Guthrie
 Senior Trade Commissioner

 Zoe Williams
 Consul (Immigration)

 Dean Hogarth
 Consul (Australian Border Force)

 Damien Appleby
 Consul (Police Liaison) 

 Gavin McDougall
 Director, Public Affairs